Skip to content

The Benefit of The Holidays

December 22, 2009

It is certainly a hectic time of year. These days the projects and deadlines have been piling up and CSS -with a growing roster of international clients in different time zones – is now a 24/7 operation. As I write this in the wee hours of the morning, I confess to looking forward to my holidays-however brief. Surprisingly the best ideas I have ever had have always occured during the holidays. It is a time to relax your mind, and distract yourself with the truly important things in your life: friend and family. Somewhere following a few good nights sleep, and having re-charged by eating real food, the wheels in my head start turning again. Without the distractions of daily communications, or deadlines, the ideas flow freely like a river through my head where I begin to ponder each one by one. Whether these ideas are “micro” (strategy or indicator specific), or “macro” (theoretical, concepetual or business planning insights), I always manage to get excited over a few gems. The holidays is not just a time of pallid new year’s resolutions. It is a time to re-discover yourself, get in touch with those you care about, and best of all- a time to think of new ideas. And as you all know, I like to share these ideas as much as I can.

Happy Holidays to All ……..and don’t forget to check back, I might have a lightbulb moment and feel the urge to post something crazy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Frank Hassler permalink
    December 22, 2009 5:34 am

    David,

    thank you very much for this great blog in 2009. You and your team did a fantastic job. You made a difference to my trading!

    Take care.
    Frank

  2. December 22, 2009 8:12 am

    Happy holidays to you too!

    I just posted a last blog post today and promised myself not to look at anything to do with my blog for the next 10 days! and allow for some relaxing and “reflexion time”.

    I find it a good way to renew motivation.

    Enjoy your break – and congrats about the “booming” 24/7 operation!

  3. Alex permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:38 am

    Happy holidays! I’ve noticed that there are many different methods for “learning”. Talking and typing distracts from thinking because it uses a different part of the brain. I think the best way to advance on ideas is to think about them and write down thoughts that seem “new” and interesting. then stare at what you’ve written down and see if you can “advance” on these “discoveries”. writing things down is a way to transfer ideas from short term to long term memory, which allows you to advance much faster. After an hour or so of this brain dump, you’ll end up with some very interesting ideas. Sleeping on this is also a good idea, cause you brain runs all kinds of simulation and pattern detection schemes. After all this is done is where you can then bounce you ideas off other brains in person or online. rinse and repeat🙂 Thanks for sharing your ideas with everyone.

Leave a Reply

