Skip to content

Indicator Survey

February 19, 2010

Update:

Note: I have a lot of new indicators already completed for Tradestation and the upcoming excel plugin- DViXL, and we are just wrapping up beta testing for the new Amibroker release (no fixed probably within a month).

25 Comments leave one →
  1. eric permalink
    February 19, 2010 5:03 pm

    Adaptive ATR stops

  2. Alex permalink
    February 19, 2010 5:13 pm

    adaptive DV2 and excel plug in, please.

  3. Bill permalink
    February 19, 2010 6:54 pm

    Adaptive RSI and DVSC/DVO, please. Have you designed the new indicators to work faster than the current ones?

  4. February 19, 2010 7:09 pm

    I think stops are much more important as they allow you to work out your heat (risk) and derive your position size, which is the basis of the money management of a trading system. And Money management is a cornerstone of a succesful trading system.

    So… I’d go for 1)

  5. Durden permalink
    February 19, 2010 7:36 pm

    Adaptive ATR stops

  6. Troy S. permalink
    February 19, 2010 7:37 pm

    Jez is right… but I think money management becomes less important if one doesn’t have a good system to trade in the first place, right? I hope you do both, David, but right now, I vote 2.

  7. Brad permalink
    February 19, 2010 7:47 pm

    I would vote for #2 – adaptive oscillators. I have never had success using stops other than MAE stops – stops often have a deterimental impact on system performance. Moreover I think it is much more important to diversify among a number of stragies and time frames, and understand proper trade size. That type of money management has a much more meaningful impact on risk adjusted returns than stops on a single system.

  8. Erik permalink
    February 19, 2010 7:54 pm

    I’d like to see adaptive DV[2|SC|O] indicators and DViXL (hopefully with some portfolio performance metrics/visualizations).

  9. Rick permalink
    February 19, 2010 8:35 pm

    I would like to see the adaptive RSI and DVSC/DVO. However, I believe the RSI requires a fixed length, so you would have to devise some other method … which i wouldn’t put past you, David. Like Bill, I wonder if you have designed the new indicators to work faster.

  10. Jim permalink
    February 19, 2010 8:51 pm

    To my eye the exits are where I see room for the most improvement.
    Something to speed up the computational time would be lovely.

  11. Peter Diprose permalink
    February 19, 2010 10:12 pm

    Adaptive DV2/DVSC/DVO please 🙂

  12. Pete permalink
    February 20, 2010 3:17 am

    Adaptive RSI/DV2 for me please. Cheers

  13. Frank permalink
    February 20, 2010 4:02 am

    Adaptive RSI/DV2 …

  14. Joe Marc permalink
    February 20, 2010 6:46 am

    Number 2 please. Stops are USUALLY hit just when a turn comes. USUALLY. I use mental stops . Thanks.

  15. John French permalink
    February 20, 2010 7:07 am

    #2 please.

  16. Rajiv permalink
    February 20, 2010 7:50 am

    Adaptive ATR stops

  17. Kevin permalink
    February 20, 2010 9:29 am

    Adaptive RSI or DV2/DVSC/DVO is my vote

  18. heywally permalink
    February 20, 2010 9:52 am

    Adaptive RSI or DV2/DVSC/DVO

    Having recently moved from TS to NinjaTrader, I’m also interested in obtaining ports of the code to work with that. TY

    • Rajiv permalink
      February 20, 2010 11:08 am

      heywally: Just curious, why did you move from TS to NT?

      • heywally permalink
        February 20, 2010 6:07 pm

        Without saying anything negative about TS, the support at NT is tremendous, which not only provides users with quick answers but makes me optimistic about future platform upgrades, and they have pretty much everything TS does with the exception of the built-in data history. They have chart trading that connects to my brokerage (IB) …. etc.

  19. ClearAir permalink
    February 20, 2010 10:34 am

    Adaptive RSI or DV2/DVSC/DVO please.

  20. CarlosR permalink
    February 20, 2010 2:35 pm

    I’d go with the adaptive ATR stops, which sound pretty unique. There’s enough fancy-schmanzy indicators out there already, but not much in the way of smart stops.

    In the end, money management is where you make your $$. I assume most readers of this blog are familiar with how you can make money with totally random entries if you have good money management practices, which shows the importance of MM. That’s where I would put the emphasis.

  21. Adriano Abbado permalink
    February 20, 2010 5:16 pm

    I agree with Troy S., both interesting, but I vote #2, thanks a lot!

  22. sea dog permalink
    February 20, 2010 5:56 pm

    Good luck counting the votes!

  23. Simon permalink
    February 22, 2010 7:55 am

    Stops can be quite damaging from my own experience. Given we have already seen quite a rebound I think #2 would stand a higher probability of trading success this year.

Leave a Reply

