Skip to content

Happy Birthday for CSS

July 22, 2010

note: to mark this anniversary of the blog, the Adaptive Time Machine returns—tommorow!

So it is  the 1-year anniversary of this blog  and I guess its a good time to do a quick speech to explain how I got here and to thank certain people for getting me to this point. Somehow I find myself  popular  as  a “quant”, a consultant, and even more strangely for my technical indicators. Truthfully my background prior to CSS was not rooted firmly in either area. Readers know that I have a primary background  in doing research on company fundamentals and stock scoring. I ran several complex studies with professors over a series of years and toiled in relative obscurity. I also spent many years as a professional poker player.  In fact, I am always proud to say that just over 1-year ago, I actually did not know much if anything about technical analysis (of course this often frightens the odd client!). Furthermore, despite my finance background, I would still not consider myself a serious “quant”—- I can’t remember the last time I did a matrix or an integral, and certainly don’t pride myself on mathematical proofs.  Thankfully for me we live in the age of computers and statistical software.

I can say that I learned quite a bit this short year, and now view the market from a completely different perspective than before. Truthfully, many other bloggers helped to inspire and shape my thinking (see Blogroll).  Apparently I have taught many readers some new ways of looking at things in the course of my own studies and observations on the market. I wasn’t aware that my thinking was so unconventional until I was told otherwise!  I have readers to thank for both their support and their excellent questions.

If one man is to be singled out for introducing CSS to the blogosphere it is Michael Stokes of MarketSci http://marketsci.wordpress.com/ . Being a new reader of his blog, I spent time digesting his good work and commenting on several posts. It was my first introduction to the world of technical analysis, market timing, and adaptation. One day while on vacation, I decided to send in an idea I had with the view that it may be interesting to readers. Michael took a spreadsheet I sent him on a formula for an indicator to predict the S&P500 and introduced it to the world as the “DV2.” Lest some of you think that my habit of naming indicators beginning with my initials (DV) is an  ego-driven narcissistic quirk, you can all blame Michael for starting the trend—truthfully I always referred to the DV2 internally as the “pivot indicator.” Then in another strange twist, a fellow (and now good friend) by the name of Jeff Pietsch put DV2 and many other indicators to follow on his very popular ETF Rewind tool   http://etfrewind.blogspot.com/ .  Jeff went on to help with programming and launching both DV Indicators for Tradestation and Amibroker and the wonderful new Excel Plug-In. He also helped me develop my thinking in many different ways. As my posts on the blog started to pile up, I had plenty of supporters that helped to generate a fan base early on–the earliest was Rob Hanna of Quantifiable Edges http://quantifiableedges.blogspot.com/ , followed by   Jared Woodward of Condor Options http://www.condoroptions.com/, Charles Kirk of the Kirk Report http://www.thekirkreport.com/ , Tadas Viksantas of Abnormal Returns http://abnormalreturns.com/, and Brett Steenbarger of Traderfeed http://traderfeed.blogspot.com/. Many others in the blogosphere deserve mention- but I would run out of space very quickly in trying to avoid picking out just a few.

Lastly, and most importantly, a fellow by the name of Corey Rittenhouse of Catallactic Analysis http://catallacticanalysis.com/ sent me a backtest one day early on in the year based on one of the first of many crazy ideas. Corey became my primary partner in testing and research, and without him none of this would be even possible. Corey is a magician with the computer and without his help  I would still be stuck putting up ugly black and white tables (whenever you see that on the blog thats me!). There would be no Adaptive Time Machine, Livermore Index, or pretty looking backtest pictures–all of this was done in VBA with custom code much to most people’s amazement.

So to all of you—thanks very much!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Troy S. permalink
    July 22, 2010 4:44 am

    Most of all, thank you David! You’ve given us readers more than we could ever give you. We truly appreciate your unparalleled generosity and wisdom; it’s what makes us eager to read your insightful posts every day.

    Keep up the good work, and may continued success come to you and CSS Analytics!

  2. John French permalink
    July 22, 2010 6:18 am

    An interesting story David. Funny about the poker bit too. I read your blog (and Michael’s) religiously and am better informed for it by a country mile. Thanks.

  3. July 22, 2010 6:21 am

    David,

    You do great work, but I guess the market is telling you that every week🙂 by looking at your account balance.

    I want to thank YOU for your openness. There are very few blogs around who are that open when it comes to sharing ideas and research results.

    I wish you continued success and a lot of fun!

    All the best!

    Frank

  4. Jeff P permalink
    July 22, 2010 6:42 am

  5. MarketSci permalink
    July 22, 2010 8:16 am

    very kind of you david. glad to have played my very small part in encouraging you to join the blogosphere. here’s to many more years of collaboration! michael

  6. Dave Abrams permalink
    July 22, 2010 9:19 am

    DV, Congrats on a fantastic first year. I’ve enjoyed all our discussions and collaborations. I’m bullish on the future of CSS. 🙂 Dave

  7. bgpl permalink
    July 22, 2010 12:04 pm

    hi David,
    congratulations, and I’d like to echo what Frank said about the openness and sharing. Best wishes to you for a happy and productive life !
    best,
    bgpl

  8. July 22, 2010 12:06 pm

    Well Done David and thanks for sharing all this info on the blog – lots of insightful stuff, which I enjoy reading.
    I was actually quite surprised to realise it was your first “blog anniversary” – as you seem to have achieved a lot in this short amount of time. Congrats!

    The story and your success are inspiring (especially as I’m coming to my 1-year anniversary soon too – need to pull my fingers😉 Keep it up!

  9. July 22, 2010 12:09 pm

    hi david, we are all looking forward to another year of great blogging from you =)

  10. July 22, 2010 12:24 pm

    Your work is much apprecaited! Thank you!

  11. Aristotle permalink
    July 22, 2010 12:54 pm

    Congratulations on a truly outstannding year. Your blog has quickly made it to the top of my favorites. Every morning I eagerly look forward to your latest post!

    Also I must commend the aforementioned DVixl team for a truly slick product. Jeff P is indeed a wizard with Excel.

  12. Vic permalink
    July 22, 2010 1:51 pm

    Thank you David, it has been a real treat to read your blog on a daily basis. It’s educational, challenging and please keep up the great work.

  13. Ramon permalink
    July 22, 2010 3:31 pm

    Awesome stuff David – you should be proud!😛

    cheers

    Ramon

  14. Nick W permalink
    July 22, 2010 4:12 pm

    Thanks a lot David! This has far been one of the most insightful blog I’ve come across in the last 10 years! I really appreciate what you’ve done and shared with all of us.

    Looking forward to the next year!
    Nick

  15. Josh permalink
    July 23, 2010 5:46 am

    Wow,

    A year sure feels long in blog time. I thought you’ve been around longer. Well congratulations! Your blog is hands down my favorite trading blog, with so many ideas sparked from your voluminous output. Thanks and keep up the good work!

    Josh

  16. Kevin permalink
    July 23, 2010 9:50 am

    Attitude is its own reward. Thank you for exemplifying this. And to another year!

  17. Brad permalink
    July 25, 2010 7:00 am

    David / Corey – A big congrats and thank you to CSS! Unquestionably, your blog and the new products you have developed have chnaged the way I look at the markets. Keep up the great work!

    Brad

Leave a Reply

